lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Sink or Swim

Do you know what one of the most rewarding things in the entire world is? It’s hearing someone tell you about their blog and how someone they didn’t know commented on it. This happened to Miss Adams this week. She came into class on Wednesday and began telling me how this woman who taught high school biology liked her blog and commented about one of the activities she posted about. This is what blogs are for. They are for sharing ideas between people and making connections that would never have existed before. It’s the coolest thing.

Image

These are the evolving rice krispies that received the comment!

As we approach the beginning of April, the stress is piling on. I have two massive presentations to give. One is over my “Bloat ‘Em, Float ‘Em, Explode ‘Em” chicken project and the other is over this NASA project and the blogs I have been rounding up every week. I’m terrified. I’ve never been this nervous about a presentation before, but I really want do well. I want people to understand what these girls have achieved this semester and, ideally, I would really like people to walk away thinking about how to apply science blogging in their own classrooms. Will that happen? I have no idea, but I want to share this passion for science and writing and publishing that I have. When I said I wanted to be part of the education conversation, I didn’t think it would be within months. I had kind of been planning on years to get my feet under me. Sink or swim, I guess.

Image

Anyway, here are all of the wonderful blogs from the past week!

Image

First off, we have a guest blogger this week. My friend, Kelsey, visited the science building last Friday and she wrote the most amazing blog about it. This is what cross-curriculum is about and it is inspiring to see her writing about all of her great ideas and her funny pictures. She’ll be getting a better tour later today too.

Image

Here’s her “Science Selfie!” We should make “Science Selfies” a thing.

Miss Adams wrote a blog on the evolving rice krispies project that I mentioned earlier in this post. She has some great pictures off all the different edible biology projects we did that day, including the super gross super salty rice krispies. She also made another video to share with you all about our lunar rover projects. Miss Adams and her team had designed a pretty awesome covered wagon rover.

Image

Steffie also posted some fun pictures from the lunar rover projects and explained the dixie cup rocket challenge as well. She makes a very good point that the dixie cup rocket challenge is a great way to get students (and teachers) thinking outside the box and develop their problem solving skills.

Image

Diane’s blog shows the other team’s lunar rover in an interesting series of pictures that could almost be interpreted as before and after pictures. They turned a random assortment of materials into a car that could race down a ramp and cross a table. She also includes the results from last week’s bacteria growing experiment. (You might want to go clean your computer mouse right now.) Diane also recaps on the fossil unit from two weeks ago and has posted a few ideas of her own on how to do fossils in elementary school classrooms.

Image

Next week, I’ll be posting a video of my presentation and links to everyone’s blogs, so stay tuned!

Image

2 comments on “Sink or Swim

  1. Elisabeth Ellington
    March 28, 2014

    I think your presentation on blogging in science might be a good one for NCTE! Maybe we can try to put together a proposal for next year (we missed the deadline this year, sadly).

  2. kelseyempfield
    April 1, 2014

    I love the collection! Also, yes to NCTE! Right??

Leave a Reply

daniellenbuckley

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Steffie Sandlian

Living with a purpose that is Higher than my own.

Miss Adams

To the World you may be just a teacher, but to your students you are a Hero!

dianek28

A fine WordPress.com site

Miss Willnerd

The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go.

Christopher Lehman

Educational Consultant and Author Christopher Lehman's Blog

Gatsby In L.A.

My year of learning about education in Los Angeles by Ellie Herman

Butt Naked Travels

The antics and adventures of two wandering sisters.

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

The Upturned Microscope

Musings of a biologian

lilscribbles

My little scribbles about the big world around me.

ashleyrushman

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

