lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Welcome to the New Year

As my three o’ clock bedtime rapidly approaches, I find myself not working on my story like I had promised myself but in a bit of a panic over all the different social web media one of my classes this semester will require. I thought I would get a jump start since I had an hour, though I can feel my eyelids growing heavier by the minute.

there was homework bird

How I feel the first day of class and some of the days after that.

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to write at least five times a week on a personal project. I’m not sure this really counts, but at least I’m writing which is better than last year. I am currently working on a steampunk novel that seems to have taken on Tolstoy-like dimensions that are rather daunting to say the least. Even as I’m writing now, I’m not sure I agree with Tolstoy and steampunk being in the same sentence, but I’ve done it twice now and will just have to get over it. steampunk scholar

My cat, Joplin, has abandoned me for a box and a catnip mouse. He tends to be anti-cuddle, but he definitely knows what he wants and when he wants it. I was cleaning my kitchen earlier and he had decided that every pile of dirt I collected was an invitation to play and as a result I ended up sweeping at least three times.

Over my holiday break, I have also become incredibly obsessed with this T.V. show “Once Upon a Time.” All of the characters annoy me except for Rumplestiltskin and Belle. They are the only reason I watched all ofseason one and all of the episodes of season two in less than a week. Not even Doctor Who inspired that kind of passionate consumption of television. Being so involved with the beauty and the beast storyline, I am beginning to worry if I am not a little attracted to Stockholm’s Syndrome. Sometimes I find myself wishing to be kidnapped on my way to do my laundry, but I always dismiss this as silly because I would probably be way too terrified and angry at my predicament to possibly fall in love. Fairy tales…

dragon fighting dude

That’s all for now folks.

6 comments on “Welcome to the New Year

  1. Elisabeth Ellington
    January 6, 2013

    Sorry to put you in a panic, but it looks like you are off to a strong start with your blog. I heart steampunk. Now I want to know what you’ve read and what books I can push on you because at heart, that’s what I really am: a book pusher. And unfinished novels! More and more interesting! When you say Tolstoy-like, do you mean in terms of length or subject matter?

    • lechatdu503
      January 10, 2013

      I read a lot of Terry Pratchett. I’m really very into Discworld and all of the satire there. I also like books like Youth in Revolt and Submarine. Youth in Revolt is fun and I laugh at his antics, while Submarine, I relate to on a deeper, more personal level. I read a lot of books about France, set in France, in French. Pretty much France, France, France. (Do you speak French?) I also like to read books about cooking, in France or not, but in France is even better. I recently read “The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry” which was wonderful. It also has one of the best recipes for Chicken Cordon Bleu ever! Seriously! Gruyere and pancetta instead of ham and swiss. A little bit of mustard and some wine reduction sauce. So good. I loved the book The Elegance of a Hedgehog and Peter and the Starcatchers. I am a big fan of Peter Pan and Alice in Wonderland. Capt. Hook is my favorite villain. When I say Tolstoy-like I mean both in length and subject matter. Everybody even dies at the end too.

  2. princesslirael
    January 12, 2013

    I am going to love reading what you write this semester, guaranteed.

    Steampunk, Once Upon a Time, Doctor Who… three things I adore, all in one post by one person. Fantastic.

    Also, as far as all the social media required for our class this year… I felt the same way. I still feel mildly overwhelmed by the need to check RSS feeds, Tweet, and not overrun the text limit there. Still trying to figure out all the hashtags that are apparently required to be “cool.”

  3. sarkrisd
    January 12, 2013

    I want your last picture. Can I steal your last picture? please please please?????

    • lechatdu503
      January 12, 2013

      Sure you can steal it! I stole it from the internet in the first place. 🙂 Help yourself.

  4. Elisabeth Ellington
    January 12, 2013

    I do speak French. In fact, I have a degree in it. Though I’ve always read it much better than spoken it. Terry Pratchett is one of my favorite writers. I am completely obsessed with the Tiffany Aching novels. Now I want to push I Captured the Castle and The Brontes Went to Woolworths on you. Not that they really have any connection to Terry Pratchett. Just… they fit. Do you follow cooking blogs? Right now, I can’t stop reading Deb Perelman’s new cookbook: her blog is smittenkitchen. And I’m in the middle of the Best Food Writing of 2012. We have more similar reading interests than I realized!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2013 by .

Navigation

CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Runner Girls Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

