lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Death in Books

On Twitter the other day Lauren Martinovich made mention of how much death there seems to be in young adult literature. Thinking back to the last four books I’ve read and the assigned reading for this week, not a single one of these books is deathless. In Delirium, no one we know is actually killed, but we believe that one character is dead for the majority of the book. In Trailers, the main character’s mom is a crack whore living in a trailer park that beats her boyfriend with a baseball bat until he dies and then the main character is left to pick up the pieces. In Mercury, one of the characters murders another and then gets shot himself. In Cinder, there is a plague (strikingly similar to the Black Plague) and it’s killing everyone. In The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, three people die. SO MUCH DEATH! Why do we have so much death in teen lit? When I was a teenage, I certainly was not around dying people. They waited until college to start dropping like flies. I do not remember having a certain obsession with death either, but maybe I had one and I’ve just forgotten it. Perhaps we have books on death for teenagers because they are starting to realize their own mortality or need reminded of it because we walk around feeling like we’re ten feet tall and bulletproof when we’re 16. I don’t know. I found the comment very thought provoking though and it will probably be something that I will continue to think on throughout this semester.

Image

Death has an affinity for cats if you read Terry Pratchett.

When I was younger, I wanted to be a movie director and so in deciding that my inquiry project will be a book trailer, I am super excited. I cannot wait to get started. I have started working on my storyboards and scripts. It’s going to be a short public service announcement on the cure for love interrupted by pictures of love. The only problem is I have no idea how I’m going to find time to film this and edit it.

Image

Don’t worry. It won’t hurt as I completely destroy your ability to love.

I am almost done with Borderlands. It is an astounding book that looks at the mestiza people. Gloria, the author, looks at not having a home, not belonging in either place because she belongs to both. She is also a lesbian and she writes on how this separates her from her cultural family and joins her to a international culture. Everything is effected by the border. Language, lifestyle, music, everything. The borders create a new people with an inch of actual space along a fence on the Mexican and American border. She even brings us into her world by writing such great sections of the book in Spanish that we feel alienated and on the border with her. It is brilliantly written and incredibly thoughtful.

Image

The birthplace of a new culture.

Well, I have a giant botany test on Friday and I have been putting it off for reading Cinder, so I should go work on it now. Till Saturday… Stay alive.

Image

Argggggh….

One comment on “Death in Books

  1. kelseyempfield
    February 7, 2013

    I agree with you! All but one book I’ve read this semester has killed off multiple characters. And good luck with your book trailer! I look forward to seeing it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2013 by .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Runner Girls Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

