lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Hello, Strangers

Well, it’s 6:56 PM on a Saturday and I have quite a bit to do here. Stick with me and we’ll get through this.

Image

This is what comes up when you google “stick with me.” You can also go buy stickers for your mac with this logo.

I finished Story of a Girl on Wednesday. I loved it. I connected with Deanna even though I have never lived in a poor neighborhood/town with a house falling apart and I never had sex when I was 13. Her questions on what sex was worth, what the price of having a friend and company was really struck me. Rattled my bones. Made me think. Question my own relationships and deeds. Those questions connected me to this book in a way Speak didn’t. I was never an outcast. I was never raped. I could feel for Melinda because the writing was well done and the story interesting. Story of a Girl made me think about my own story. What’s the story of this girl? What are my tragedies and my triumphs?

Image

Deanna also has this fear of getting stuck in her little town and I completely know the feeling. I was born in Doulgas, Wyoming before I moved to Missoula, Montana where my sister was born. From there, I moved to Lemmon, South Dakota (You know that fifty miles from nowhere and lightyears from someplace? That’s Lemmon.) and then onto Cheyenne, Wyoming. Somehow I ended up in small town Nebraska and went on a yearlong exchange to Lille, France, before after a horrible senior year, I ended up staying in the same town as my parents for college. I am used to the bounce, the constantly changing and I love it! Currently, I am in this town and all I want to do is study hard and save much and get out. I want to do something extraordinary and I feel like I’m in training. I totally understand not wanting to be stuck. I cannot image life stationary. Growing up, graduating high school, going to college, getting married, getting a job, and dying in the same town is something I cannot even comprehend. I have no home. My roots are people and specific places, a house, a cafe, a trail, not a town. Frankly, I can’t wait to get started traveling and moving.

Image

As if this is an accurate picture. Yesterday, I was crying and screaming and completely unhappy. Lying stockphotos.

Still haven’t finished Scarlet, but it is definitely going to happen this week because my other library books are due March 2nd and I have a few to read. Creative Saturdays will be back next Saturday now that my life has settled down a bit. Thanks for bearing with me. TIll Monday.

Image

Just that awesome.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2013 by .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

