lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Don’t Lose the Lottery

After much trial and error, I have finally figured out how to link to another webpage. I am feeling very proud of myself at this moment since I have been trying to avoid doing this all semester. Now I’ve done it and it doesn’t seem that bad. Don’t you love it when you think something is going to be harder than Physics II and really it’s about as hard as cutting a slice of cake?

Image

This just makes me hungry.

Anyway, I have been catching up on some reading of other people’s blogs and I came across sarkrisd’s blog and her post on Kids Killing Kids which is about The Hunger Games, which of course, we read this January. I’ve been in the mood to go from this really deep, important YA lit that I’ve been reading to the fluffy stuff like The Hunger Games and this gave me the perfect opportunity. The only thing is, she kind of ruined the fluffy bit for me.

Image

So tired of thinking hard thoughts… Cats make everything better.

Sarkrisd is completely right when she talks about how disturbing it is to actually read about children killing each other. It made her ponder how beat down a society would have to be to offer their children as sacrifices to some pseudo-democratic government. I had had the same thoughts while I was reading this book as well. I don’t think I know any parents who would passively sit by when someone came to take their kids away to their likely demise. It kind of makes me want to read a prequel to The Hunger Games in which all of this is explained fully. What happened to crush so many people’s spirits?

Image

Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Then, someone in the comments brought up “The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson which was a much more disturbing story for me. A town pulls lots to see who will be stoned to death and no one ever stops it or really questions why except for the person who loses the lottery. It’s a wonderfully disturbing short story and if you haven’t read it, you should. It’s one of those stories that makes your skin crawl. Her compilation of short stories have other great ones, but this is the most similar to The Hunger Games. Why do/did we require young adults to read these sorts of stories? What could be gained from watching people passively kill each other? It seems as though these creepy, unsettling stories are being used to make us think a little bit. To warn us not to grow too complacent in our lives and to accept some of the ugly truths as something unchangeable. That’s what gives these stories their true value. They remind us of what could be our future if we quit questioning.

Image

Would you throw the rock?

5 comments on “Don’t Lose the Lottery

  1. ashabeggs
    March 30, 2013

    I’ve never really analyzed the Hunger Games like this. I always took it in as a good, entertaining (disturbing) read. Sometimes I find when I try to “understand” the why’s and how’s, I begin to lose the pleasure of reading. With that being said, I also believe that writers always have some kind of motive behind their writing and it’s up to you if you want to pick it apart or not! I love your idea of, “[stories like the Hunger Games] remind us of what could be our future if we quit questioning.” Solid conclusion!

    Thanks for the post!
    Ashley Abegglen

  2. jamcfarland
    April 4, 2013

    Dystopian future is always interesting fodder for literature. Orwell’s 1984 is my go-to dystopian future. How could a society fall so far as to allow the formation of “thought police”? Sometimes I legitimately feel like Big Brother is watching us. This is opposed to dystopia like Cormac McCarthy’s “The Road”, where society has been all but obliterated. Seeing how people work when all of their luxuries stripped away has a Hunger Games-y ring to it.

    One film I recommend, despite it’s age, is Soylent Green. I could describe it, but a Wiki synopsis will do just fine:
    “In 2022, with 40 million people in New York City alone, housing is dilapidated and overcrowded; homeless people fill the streets and food is scarce; and most of the population survives on rations produced by the Soylent Corporation, whose newest product is Soylent Green, a green wafer advertised to contain “high-energy plankton”.”

  3. Elisabeth Ellington
    April 6, 2013

    Don’t we all think we’re the person who wouldn’t throw the rock? And what does it mean that we all think we wouldn’t throw the rock? Because somebody always throws the rock. Good for you for figuring out how to link! It’s super easy, right?

  4. Elisabeth Ellington
    April 6, 2013

    Forgot to add: Cats DO make everything better!

  5. kendradexter
    April 14, 2013

    What a wonderful post! I will read The Lottery and add it to Goodreads. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts, very inspiring 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2013 by and tagged , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

