lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Newbery Challenge

Well, it’s all sorts of amazing once you start tagging your posts. I have truly enjoyed all the notifications I get and then I go and check out who liked me. It’s like a giant game of tag where you don’t know the players. When I find out that the players are really good writers with loads of followers and they liked my tiny, insignificant post, it’s probably one of the most satisfying feelings in the world.

Image

Me in my bedroom when I get one of those notifications

Today, I have decided to get back on track. At the beginning of this year, I thought I was behind. I was actually ahead and now I’m actually behind. Step One: Admit you have a problem. I know have given myself a schedule for these blogs and recently I have been rather terrible at following that schedule. My apologies. Step Two: Write a massive to-do list and stick to it! Step Three: Well, this is step three. This is me sticking to the list and doing what I put down for today.

Image

These are in red so I pay attention to them… Right.

I finished my book trailer today. It is currently in the process of loading. Watch it at your own risk because the sound quality on parts of it is not the greatest and I couldn’t really fix it. If I reduced the background noise it sounded like the two actors were speaking from the inside of a can. If I didn’t reduce the background noise it sounded like there was a helicopter landing on an unbalanced washing machine. So, I tried to find an equilibrium.

Image

Yet, everyone seems so calm in the video. Class A actors.

This Easter break, I have holed myself up in my room. I have written over 10,000 words in three days. I am tired of reading. I am tired of writing. I just want to curl up and sleep for a really long time. Perhaps until May and the beginning of summer vacation. I am burnt out. So, I guess I’ll reflect on the books I have read. I have wanted to see this list since I started this adolescent lit class, but I haven’t done it. Until now and even then I’m only going to do a partial. Let’s take a look at the Newbery Medal Winners and Honor Books I’ve read and maybe it will inspire me to start again:

Image

(imagine this being read with an Academy Award announcement type voice)

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (W)

Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson (H)

Rules by Cynthia Lord (H)

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale (H)

The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo (W)

Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff (H)

A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck (W)

Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo (H)

The Wanderer by Sharon Creech (H)

Holes by Louis Sachar (W)

A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck (H)

Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse (W)

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (H)

The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg (W)

The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman (W)

Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech (W)

Catherine, Called Birdy by Karen Cushman (H)

Hatchet by Gary Paulsen (H)

Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan (W)

Dogsong by Gary Paulsen (H)

Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary (W)

The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare (H)

Dicey’s Song by Cynthia Voigt (W)

Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary (H)

Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary (H)

Frog and Toad Together by Arnold Lobel (H)

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien (W)

The Planet of Junior Brown by Virginia Hamilton (H)

Enchantress from the Stars by Sylvia Louise Engdahl (H)

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg (W)

The Egypt Game by Zilpha Keatley Snyder (H)

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle (W)

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell (W)

The Cricket in Times Square by George Selden (H)

My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George (H)

Banner in the Sky by James Ullman (H)

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White (H)

Ginger Pye by Eleanor Estes (W)

King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry (W)

The Hundred Dresses by Eleanor Estes (H)

These Happy Golden Years by Laura Ingalls Wilder (H)

Little Town on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder (H)

By the Shores of Silver Lake by Laura Ingalls Wilder (H)

On the Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder (H)

The Trumpeter of Krakow by Eric P Kelly (W)

I have read 18 Newbery winners and 27 honor books. That’s not bad actually. I was surprised how many of the assigned books in elementary school were winners from the 1950s and 1960s. I wonder what they teach now? How many have you read?

Image

6 comments on “Newbery Challenge

  1. brittanylenz
    April 3, 2013

    Your list is impressive! That’s just amazing! You need to be very proud of that! I find myself constantly struggling with being behind in my reading! I am getting my 4 hours a week that is required but not much else… Also, your little celebration at the beginning of this blog is funny (but quite accurate for any of us!) I noticed last week that I was not on anyone’s blog! I have been so down that no one reads what I write and felt like it wasn’t worth my time so hopefully that will change here since I really wasn’t on anyone’s list. But you need to be congratulated on your reading progress this semester, it’s impressive.

  2. Laura Cataldi
    April 4, 2013

    Woo! What a list! I thought I had a bunch, 29, though I didn’t count who was a winner and who was an honor. Too lazy to do that. :p And you are definitely not the only one to have once been ahead, and are now behind. I… got comfortable, and cocky, and now I’m flailing about, trying to speed read and write and spaz my way through my assignments in this and other classes. Thank goodness for caffeine! Woo!

    Also, I know what you mean about tagging your posts. When I started doing that, all kinds of people started liking my stuff and following me. I feel like a minor internet celebrity now. *puts on huge sunglasses* Oh yeah.

  3. rachelrmack
    April 4, 2013

    Your celebration comment and picture cracked me up. Who knew this whole blogging thing could be so exciting! Oh the joys it brings. I also like your comment about feeling ahead when your behind and behind when your ahead. It’s a never ending battle to maintain with everything else going on in life. However, I think you should definitely feel ahead. You’ve read so many books, even if they haven’t all been for this class. I am super impressed with your list! Kudos.

  4. jamcfarland
    April 4, 2013

    My Newbery’s list is pretty pitiful. I think I’ve only read one winner, and maybe two of the honorable mentions. More is probably expected of me, BUT I’ve always been the Lit major who hasn’t read any of what I’m supposed to have read.

    I’m totally in the boat of getting tired of reading and writing. Next year, I’m starting on a music minor, so I’m hoping that the reprive from 3 to 4 lit classes a semester will give me a much needed break. I’m starting to fall behind in my reading for classes (as in Brit Lit, though that whole ‘niche’ thing was lame. Apparently textbook definitions of words aren’t good enough anymore).

    For keeping all my stuff-to-do in order, instead of carrying around a planner I’ll never use, I use the “Sticky Notes” program on my computer. I have lists of what I have to do for homework on my desktop – the one place I’m guaranteed to look.

  5. ashabeggs
    April 5, 2013

    Don’t feel behind, because that will only cause stress an anxiety and then you can’t enjoy what your doing! Take your “behindness” as a challenge, have fun with it. I know, easier said than done, because I’ve felt the same way, but I try to take my own advise and run with it…anyways great book list! Don’t stop there, go back and read the ones you haven’t, you will be glad you did! Hope this motivational comment sparked a fire. Good luck!
    Thanks for the post.
    Ashley Abegglen

  6. Elisabeth Ellington
    April 6, 2013

    Oh yeah! I should probably add something about tagging to my blogging instructions at the beginning of the semester, huh? Because it does make a big difference. I am trying to read all of the Newbery winners (1922 to present) and all the Honor books for the last 20 years. I have enjoyed a lot of the books I’ve read, but there are also some duds. I guess that’s the way with any book list.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

New York City based photographer STEFAN FALKE visits artists who live and work on both sides of the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region for his ongoing project. All photos and texts © Stefan Falke (No use without written permission by the author)

