lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Out of the Dust

There are teachers that we all run into once in awhile in our lives that are not what we would expect. I say teacher and we’re all thinking Mrs. Jones who was about fifty years old wearing some matronly outfit and beckoning us in from recess. But, this idea of teacher also extends to the college professor who lectures on and on about the failings of the Habsburg Monarchy. Then, there are teachers who go out of their way for their students, who notice their likes and dislikes and points you in the right direction. This is not every teacher, but it’s the teacher I want to be.

Image

That teacher we all had in fifth grade, unless she was a total monster, then we had her in fourth grade.

Anyway, this week I read Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse. I have always really enjoyed this book, this being the third or fourth time I’ve read it. It somehow always manages to stick with you. It invades your thoughts like the dust invaded the homes of farmers all across America’s midwest. That is probably one of my favorite things about this book. It makes me look at where I live and I wonder how bad the dust was in my house. (My house was built in 1919, but I am pretty sure I live too far West and North for the Dust Bowl to have been too terrible.) The Dust Bowl is one of those events that I always think about when I drive across the midwest and there is high wind and I can see these huge dust clouds move over the fields. It’s eerie and wonderful at the same time.

Image

Out of the dust and still advancing

Books like Out of the Dust also show how resilient we are. We can be hurt time and time again, lose that which matters most, live in the grit and the dust and still continue to live. Through thick and through thin, humans survive and find joy. That to me is incredibly exceptional. We are similar to cockroaches in that nothings seems to keep us down or keep us out. We are everywhere and live in every sort of circumstance. We can accidentally kill those we love and be stopped from doing what we are passionate about, but we do not stop. Of course, there are exceptions to every rule of the person who decides to end it all in what can either be looked at as a moment of cowardice or a moment of great strength. Yet, many of us still keep moving in what we hope is a forward direction. It’s amazing. It seems nothing short of the apocalypse will take us down and even then, my bets are split.

Image

That great press of humanity that never goes away!

One comment on “Out of the Dust

  1. brvolc1
    April 7, 2013

    This is a great compilation of how the book is related to life and how no matter what some themes will always be with a person. I know it has been about 12 years since I have read this, but I have read it before like so many others. IT is a great short novels that shows the triumph of life in the dust bowl. #eng438

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Runner Girls Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

