lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Lemons and Oranges

Is there anything better than two snow days in a row in April? Probably not. The amount of reading and homework I have gotten done with these two bonus days is astounding. People should have more snow days more often. Weekends aren’t enough because there is always too much to do and too many people to see. Three feet of snow blocking your door is good motivation to stay indoors and finish that project you promised yourself you would. It’s also a good time to sit on the coach drinking hot chocolate with your sister watching America’s Funniest Home Videos and laughing so hard your sides ache for hours afterward.

Image

This week I finished Make Lemonade by Virginia Euwer Wolff. It was delightfully quick read to accompany my continuous slog through Spindle’s End by Robin McKinley. I really liked Make Lemonade. LaVaughn’s mom was probably my favorite character. She was so determined to make sure her daughter went to college that it made me smile. In some families, college is never even really talked about. It’s always what’s going to happen. You graduate high school and go to college. End of story. Common sense. I remember talking with my parents about maybe not attending college after high school and doing something like culinary school or film school instead. I even thought about being a nanny somewhere in Europe before my sister reminded me of how I don’t really like little kids. Yet, this book reminded me that it’s not always so simple and clear cut for people. College can be a lofty, almost unachievable goal that people begin working towards in fifth grade. Sometimes, college doesn’t happen at all.

Image

Or is it really?

LaVaughn’s descriptions of Jeremy and Jilly and Jolly’s house made me want to go scrub my floors and take a really long, cleansing bath. Messes have NEVER been a part of my growing up. My parents’ friends had clean houses. I had a clean room. My friends had clean houses. I would be freaked out if I went to someone’s house and there were boxes everywhere and isolated clutter and messes in every room among the box paths. I would never have taken the babysitting job for Jolly. Never. Not with the cockroaches and the smell so strong you can taste it. Nope. Messy children in a messy house is not a match for this girl, yet I have a great respect for LaVaughn and her ability to stick with it and get that family on the right track. That takes great perseverance to keep going when everything looks to be a rock bottom. J.K. Rowling has a quote, “And so rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.” I think that pretty much sums up Jolly’s situation.

Image

Just looking at this picture makes my blood pressure go up.

Anyway, I have to go to work soon and I have a car buried under several feet of snow, so I will leave you until later this week. Just remember:

Image

3 comments on “Lemons and Oranges

  1. brittanylenz
    April 10, 2013

    This blog kind of just made my day! I only got one snow day but I made the best of it! We have 24″ of snow and still have to go to work today (Wednesday). But having a bunch of snow for us isn’t anything too crazy. I like how you say that you never grew up in clutter. I didn’t grow up that way either and I was thinking the same thing…I would have a really hard time working for Jolly and not cleaning like I was OCD in her apartment. LaVaughn is an amazing young lady to endure such things in order to benefit Jeremy and Jilly. You did a wonderful job! And it was quite funny! Your last picture makes me crack up! I love it!

  2. candyscram
    April 11, 2013

    I am amazed at people who have never be around clutter how did they escape it. I have always known at least one house that was cluttered. I have also watched children for someone who had a rough house. I did not want to sit at the table or go in the kitchen but I made it through. I did it for the children and thought it was not their fault the walls had food on them from months ago or that the boxes that were overflowing and falling apart.

  3. Elisabeth Ellington
    April 13, 2013

    I loved the snow days! I was ready to go back to work on Thursday, but wow, it was nice to have two unexpected days off. And you’re right: it was better than a weekend. There was no expectation that I would leave the house! And the only thing I left the house for each day was walking the dog. And I’m pretty sure we were the only people outside in Hot Springs!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

New York City based photographer STEFAN FALKE visits artists who live and work on both sides of the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region for his ongoing project. All photos and texts © Stefan Falke (No use without written permission by the author)

