lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Check Your Pulse

I just got back from watching the movie Warm Bodies which is based on the book of the same title by Isaac Marion. While the ending was completely different and I would have loved to have more of R’s internal dialogue, I loved it. It seemed perfectly dark and gory to accompany the more pensive themes of the film. What does it mean to be human? Are we all zombies now (the irony at the very beginning of the film was not lost on me)? Can we change? It’s beautiful. If you haven’t read the book, go do it. Now. Your life will never be the same. It’s also very rare that you find a movie, that while not as good as the book, satisfies, so I would also recommend that you take a trip to your local movie theatre and watch it.

Image

In the meantime, I have continued my reading of Spindle’s End. I haven’t checked yet, but I think this has got to be the third or fourth post I have mentioned this ridiculous book in. Make Lemonade leaves out the extraneous details, this book embraces them and gives them all the pages they desire. It’s engaging, but sometimes I wish Robin McKinley would just get to the point! So many details and useless side stories to provide the history of the general area that have done nothing to advance the plot. Nothing! It’s driving me crazy, but I will persevere because it is the last book I need to finish before I do my last book talk.

Image

I didn’t realize that I had picked up a dictionary on a fictional world.

What else am I reading? I ordered Page by Paige, Yummy, and Rapunzel’s Revenge yesterday and I am so excited! There is nothing quite like ordering a book and then waiting for it to be delivered to your doorstep when you can hardly contain your enthusiasm to start reading it. These three books are all graphic novels and I am looking for an ‘easy’ read fix. I also found a graphic novel series of Peter Pan done by a French artist and am considering purchasing them, but I’m not sure since they can be rather expensive. Too many books and too little time and money and space.

Image

My library books are all due back on April 18th and I haven’t touched them yet. Time for another library walk of shame. The librarians all know me by now and automatically renew my books when I walk in empty handed and do not head downstairs to the young adult section. I sometimes like to imagine what they’ll do when I start reading from the adult section this summer.

Image

To satisfy one curious reader, I have not read near as many Michael L Printz Award Winners/Honor books as I have Newbery Winners/Honor books. This list is going to be pretty embarrassing, but here goes.

Going Bovine by Libba Bray (W)

Nation by Terry Pratchett (H)

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green (H)

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (H – though why it isn’t a W, I have no idea.)

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak (H)

A Wreath for Emmett Till by Marilyn Nelson (H)

The First Part Last by Angela Johnson (W)

Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging: The Confessions of Georgia Nicholson by Louise Rennison (H)

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (H)

Two winners and seven honor books. I’ll work on this later to beef it up so it matches my Newbery list.

Image

Anyway, until next time: stay human, check your pulse, and keep breathing.

Image

4 comments on “Check Your Pulse

  1. Elisabeth Ellington
    April 13, 2013

    I loved the movie of Warm Bodies. Haven’t read the book yet but might this summer. I recently read Robin McKinley’s Newbery winner, The Hero & the Crown. It was excellent! I was obsessed with Outlaws of Sherwood and Beauty (still my favorite of her books) when I was a teen and reread them repeatedly. I think she has a new book coming out soon. Some day, I’m going to get all the Printz books read. I guess I ought to post about that on my blog too! Happy reading this week!

  2. lesannebill
    April 13, 2013

    That is one of my biggest pet peeves: Going to see the movie of a book you read and not getting as much of the internal dialogue that you feel is needed to explain things from the book! HA! That is why I never go to see the movie version of books. I spend the entire time comparing the two and the movie never measures up to the book.

  3. kelseyempfield
    April 13, 2013

    I just recently had to conduct a library walk of shame…for my younger brother! Oye, that kid…
    Enjoy your books when you get them in the mail; what an exciting feeling!
    In other news, I love zombies, but I would never survive a zombie apocalypse. Bummer.

  4. sarkrisd
    April 19, 2013

    And this is why the Harry Potter movies are so disappointing for me. All of the best parts were taken out or moved around. I have never understood why books have to be changed in order to become a movie.

    However, I have been interested in this book for a while and now you have made me interested enough to check it out next time I’m at the library. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

New York City based photographer STEFAN FALKE visits artists who live and work on both sides of the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region for his ongoing project. All photos and texts © Stefan Falke (No use without written permission by the author)

