lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Chocolate Milkshakes

This is going to be a post about comics. Before we begin, let me share a wonderful song with you that you should listen to on loop while you read. If you’re not craving a milkshake at the end, I’ve done something wrong.

Image

You are getting very thirsty…

Anyway, this week I have read several graphic novels. I read Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge, Yummy by G. Neri, and Rapunzel’s Revenge by Dean Hale, Shannon Hale, and Nathan Hale. Rapunzel’s Revenge was my favorite out of the three, but I’ve always been one for fairytales. I loved that her partner in crime is called Calamity Jack. With Disney’s Tangled, I have found my love for this story and it just got so much better with this book. I am the Wild West’s biggest fan and this book combined so many elements of humor, history, and creativity that just made me incredibly happy. Rapunzel rides a buffalo. A buffalo (and a wild boar, but that’s not as awesome as the buffalo)!

Image

Get ‘er done kinda gal

Page by Paige was surprising. It was very real to me where most graphic novels seem to try and maintain some sort of incredible circumstance that distance me from the actual story in a way. This book doesn’t have that and I found myself really relating to Paige. She doesn’t want to share herself with the world because she’s worried she’s too weird. Who has never felt this way? Probably no one ever. She stays up in her head and this is only worsened by a move to New York. As a kid who rarely ever stayed in a town for more than three years, moving is old hat. You are your own best friend and while Paige was an only child it appeared, I had my little sister. This is a great book for introverts who are scared to be themselves.

Image

It’s okay to leave the bubble sometimes. Be comfortable being you.

She also maintains the idea of everyone wearing a mask in her story. Her mom is wearing a happy face mask when nothing is right. She can’t tell if her dad our friends are genuine. She is alone in crowded New York City, surrounded by people who are wearing their own masks. I’ve had these thoughts too sometimes and I have realized that I’m not sure society would function without the ‘masks’ because the masks are just a different part of ourselves. A part that strives for happiness, a part that wants to avoid pain, a part that wants to be loved.

Image

Are you really happy? Or is that just a mask?

Yummy was tragic. The best thing about this story was the question of which was more tragic. The boy’s death or his life? Yummy is this eleven year old gangster who accidentally shoots and kills a fourteen year old girl. He’s been ignored and abused by every system out there and become a tough kid. The narrator offers us glimpses of his innocence, but it’s not enough to save the boy. Yummy is eventually shot and killed in a warehouse by the gang he trusted. I have never lived in a place with gangs and with this amount of violence. Rural midwest tends to be pretty safe. My friends from larger cities and foreign countries struggle to let me walk home by myself at times. Yummy’s world is entirely unfamiliar to me, but that doesn’t make his story any less powerful.

Image

Which is more tragic? The life or the death? It’s not a competition. The entire thing is horrible. People try to change the world so things like this won’t happen to anyone else and yet, this seems like a beautiful, impossible dream. There will always be a child who is ignored and forced to grow up too quickly and finds abuse and cruelty more comforting than love. A child who dies before his time for crimes he doesn’t understand. What can we do to stop this? When will we safe enough is enough?

Image

I have no idea what inastormnmybestdress is, but I like the “nobody deserves all of this hate.”

While you ponder that, here is also my last book talk. It’s all about fairytales and I even wear a crown. Until next time, happy trails and embrace your inner nerd.

Image

3 comments on “Chocolate Milkshakes

  1. rachelrmack
    April 19, 2013

    I’ll have to check out Rapunzel’s Revenge as I am a lover of fairytales. The thing I liked most about reading Page by Paige was how easy it was to relate to. I, too, was surprised by how real the story felt compared to the few other graphic novels I have read. It was such a great story and yes, a perfect book for introverts 🙂 I liked your comment about Yummy’s life and death and how it was not a competition over what was more tragic. While reading his story, I kept fighting the desire to place Yummy in a specific category and it wasn’t until the end that I realized G. Neri told the story in the way he did to prevent people from trying to label Yummy as one thing or another.

  2. kelseyempfield
    April 20, 2013

    Okay, you’ve done your job. I really want to read Rapunze’s Revenge now. Who doesn’t want to see an epic buffalo ride? John Wayne would be ashamed! By the way, “chocolate will ALWAYS be great” 🙂 Thanks for the fun blog!

  3. Elisabeth Ellington
    April 20, 2013

    There’s a sequel to Rapunzel’s Revenge: Calamity Jack. Haven’t read it yet, but I love Rapunzel’s Revenge. That one is on the syllabus for my Children’s Lit class. And consider following Shannon Hale on Twitter if you don’t already! I enjoy her tweets. (LOVE her novel, Book of 1000 Days.) And also, chocolate milkshakes=yum.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

New York City based photographer STEFAN FALKE visits artists who live and work on both sides of the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region for his ongoing project. All photos and texts © Stefan Falke (No use without written permission by the author)

