lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Summer is Here

After taking a few weeks of break from this blog and trying to enjoy the few days before my summer classes and random summer employment ‘gigs’ started, I am back and alive and full of inspiration for summer and fall and the rest of my life. I returned from a geology conference in Colorado yesterday and never have I been so blown away from the massive quantities of ideas I received while I was there. One of which was the experiment that I could use as a senior thesis which involves collecting squirrels that have been hit by cars (dead ones) and letting them rot in various pools of water to see how the sink and float and explode and then analyzing how the bones fall. This would help only paleontologists really, but it still sounds like an awesome sort of grotesque experience that will both disgust and intrigue other people.

Image

Don’t worry. I will have a permit to collect squirrel carcass.

The other great idea came from thinking about how to incorporate the exploding squirrel experiment into a high school classroom. Suddenly, I got to thinking about making a blog or a newspaper column or small publication called “Citizen’s Science” which would incorporate what students were doing in the classroom to advance scientific knowledge. I would want both students and teachers to be able to contribute and kind of turn it into a ‘community’ project. Teachers could get ideas for classroom science projects and students could showcase their work and more importantly they would realize that science is applicable and what they are doing matters. I’m not sure I’ve explained this well, but I would really like to hear from you, so I will shamelessly ask for you to comment and tell me what you think.

Image

I have also been reading! I finished Troy by Adele Geras a few weeks ago and my, what a bloody affair! Seriously. It’s kind of disgusting that they slit all the men’s throats and burn the city to the ground while plundering and taking all the women. It just seems absurd that people actually did this to each other. I really hope that we avoid total wars like this in the future. We’ve had enough war; I think it’s time we experienced a little peace.

Image

Because who’s dumb enough to think the Greeks would just up and leave one evening and leave an offering to their enemies gods? The Trojans.

The thing that bothered me most about this book though was the sisters and their combined interest in the same boy. It drove me crazy that the younger sister knew the older sister liked the boy first and then the boy fell in love with the younger sister and she went along with it. She hated herself while doing it and didn’t really want to do it, but Aphrodite made her. I made me so mad because you just don’t do that to your sister. Not when she’s head over heals for the boy before you even looked at him. It just completely goes against sisterly code.

Image

No boy is ever worth breaking your sisterly bond.

So, there you go. I am still alive and going strong. I’ll see you all on Wednesday where we embrace our inner superhero.

Image

Coming soon….

2 comments on “Summer is Here

  1. Pingback: Learning Wishlist | lechatdu503

  2. Pingback: Eating Science | lechatdu503

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

New York City based photographer STEFAN FALKE visits artists who live and work on both sides of the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region for his ongoing project. All photos and texts © Stefan Falke (No use without written permission by the author)

