lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Happy Things

I’m going to start off today’s post with a happy thing. At my Natural Sciences Club meeting today, there were ten people! TEN PEOPLE!!!!!! TEN SCIENCE NERDS! ALL  TOGETHER AND EXCITED ABOUT SCIENCE! This, obviously, made me so incredibly happy I’m sharing it with you. I have been trying so hard to get this club to take off and it seems like it finally did. We’re hosting a dance and an art show and all sorts of really cool things and people are coming. It’s like in Field of Dreams, when the one guy says, “If you build it, they will come.” Well, here they are. It’s so encouraging and just makes me super duper happy. It’s like one word is stamped across today and it’s finally.

Image

My face… All day.

In other news, Sophie Blackall favorited a tweet of mine. I saw that she had done it to one of my professor’s tweets, so I decided to give it a try. I waited all weekend for a favorite or a retweet and I’d almost given up hope. I’d started rationalizing. “Maybe Ms. Blackall is super busy and has tons of fans. Way too many to get back to individually.” And then, the email was there in my inbox. Sophie Blackall has favorited your tweet. That, my dear friends, was pretty awesome.

Image

Guess what happens if you click on this picture. You see the proof.

Also, I have found a book to recommend to my professor, Dr. Ellington. This is also a wonderful thing because she is constantly recommending books to everyone. She calls herself a book pusher. I walk into class last Wednesday and in front of every student is a book. And it’s not just any book, it’s a book that seems to be specifically chosen for the individual. There is thought behind this book. That sticks with you when you leave the classroom. My teacher cares enough to think about what I might read outside the classroom. This goes way beyond “make good choices and I’m sorry your dog died. Congratulations on your sister’s new baby.” This says “I know you.” It also is an invitation for a conversation. For feedback. You’ve both read something, what did you think? Let’s talk.

Image

I can only imagine her house looks a bit like this. And I kind of envy that.

Well, now it’s my turn. Maybe it’ll flop, but I hope that it doesn’t. I’m going to give her Regarding the Fountain: A Tale, in Letters, of Liars and Leaks by Kate Klise. I found the book when I was digging through my bookshelves looking for The Great Gatsby. And I stopped because I had found this golden book. This book has been with me through several moves and is just a slip of a novel. I can’t remember how many times I’ve read it, but I remember how I got it. I had won a prize and got to pick from a selection of things. This was the only book in the box, so of course I took it home. I read it, my sister read it, my mom read it. It’s truly wonderful and unexpected. It is a beautiful romp full of characters I think I’ve been in one way or another sometime in my life. It’s a book that makes you smile and now I get to share it again.

Image

Just because everyone wants a fountain that includes an angry looking gargoyle with a fish in his mouth in their backyard.

So now that I’ve shared some of my happy things, what are yours?

Image

This is also a happy thing.

One comment on “Happy Things

  1. Elisabeth Ellington
    August 28, 2013

    Happy things…. this is a great idea for a blog post. Have to think about this one. Yay to a book by Kate Klise that I’ve never heard of! The only books I knew of hers are the 43 Cemetary Road series, which I want to read to my kids but I think it’s over their heads right now. Love learning about new-to-me books, and this sounds like one I’d love. Thank you! (Also, it sounds like she has other “Regarding…” books, which is kind of exciting. The only thing better than discovering a wonderful new book is discovering that wonderful new book is a series!) I found that it worked very well in the classroom to set a book on a student’s desk and say, “I read this and thought of you.” Then walk away. The walking away is very important. Especially with “reluctant” readers. And you’re right: that shared book then becomes a path to conversation, feedback, connection, community. And a big yay to Sophie Blackall favoriting your tweet. How very much I heart Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Runner Girls Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

