lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

What Does It Take?

As I was driving to Scottsbluff the other day to take my Praxis exam, I was thinking about the government shut down and what would it take to effect change in our world? I know I write a lot about change in our education system and in the way we treat teachers and students, but what about bigger change? Or even smaller change? What does change look like?

Image

Let’s make a splash!

I think that sometimes we struggle with big change because we have so much trouble with small change. How can I change the world when I struggle to change myself? Well, I think that sometimes, we just have to jump. We just have to do it. We have to realize that changing the world will change us, hopefully into better teachers. I want to be the best teacher I can be and I want to work with the best teachers I know. How can I do that? I can close my door and teach or I can leave it open and I can slowly win people over with my lone nut-ness. I want to teach with my door open and bring change that way.

Image

I know people will resist, but that’s not the point. Life is full of resistance. Meet it with a smile and accept it. You can’t win everyone over, but you can try. One of the hardest things is to be yourself in the face of the opposition, but I know you can do it. Each and everyone of you.

Image

So, let’s change things! Let’s quit being afraid of it. Let’s tell the government that this system is obviously isn’t working. This shutdown is a sign that things are broken, so let’s begin again. We don’t have to scrap the whole thing, but let’s start changing it! Take a really good look at what’s working and what’s not. Let’s mix things up! Try something new. Move beyond our comfort zone. If we can do it in our classrooms, we can do it in our government as well.

Image

2 comments on “What Does It Take?

  1. mariahbusch
    October 9, 2013

    Small change is better than no change! Even from bad change we can discover something and grow from it. Change no matter it’s size has impact. It is our job as teacher’s to experiment, be willing to change, and promote the acceptance of change.

  2. Elisabeth Ellington
    October 9, 2013

    It’s all about being brave, isn’t it? I love your idea of leaving your door open. It’s very powerful to invite people in to see what you’re doing. And I love the idea of being kind to resisters. I was just reading a good post about this–maybe from Pernille Ripp? I’ll see if I can find it and tweet you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

New York City based photographer STEFAN FALKE visits artists who live and work on both sides of the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region for his ongoing project. All photos and texts © Stefan Falke (No use without written permission by the author)

