lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Slowly Slumping

Recently, I’ve been slacking in my blogging and in the effort I put into just about everything. I’ve been burned out for awhile now and it’s catching up with me. I can’t keep continuing to care and things are getting more and more demanding, asking that would I please reconsider and dedicate more of myself to them? That being said, I have had a couple of interesting opportunities in the teaching realm.

burned out max

The first one is that my Observation and Participation teacher let me teach a whole ninety minute lesson by myself, no assistance. That’s practically unheard of and it was my first real time teaching high school students. Needless to say, I kind of fell on my face. I had them write their own Salem Witch Trial scripts and then perform them in front of the class. I was super impressed with the results, but I know that I’m not the one who laid the groundwork for their writing or eagerness to participate with me. Yet, I kind of am. I did not introduce my project to them as well as I could have, though I figured out very quickly what I had missed when I went around to check on each group. When we finished up five minutes early, I realized I had no real conclusion to my lesson and stood there like a fish for a second while all of these eyes were waiting for my next move. Note to self: ALWAYS have a conclusion. I loved it though. I want to do more of it. Every time I get a chance to get up in front of a class and teach, I get a little bit more addicted to the job.

abcapple

Another opportunity that I have is my upcoming presentation for the Nebraska Academy of Sciences. I’m scared to death about this presentation on the use of blogging in teaching science to pre-service teachers. I would say that the project was successful, but I have no idea what I’m going to say. Backwards Design would have been helpful here, especially since it’s just a really watered down version of my science notebook idea. As I’m typing this, I am beginning to see what I can say. I can talk about the science notebook, but in blogging terms because, in essence, that’s what this is.

Presentation Dude

But enough about me! What are the NASA girls blogging about this week?

NASA logo

Dani has a great blog that goes through our fossil unit from before spring break. It includes some great photos of our local geology museum and our evolving play dough creatures. She even has a question for you all to try and answer regarding trace fossils. Her commentary and pictures provide a very complete picture of what we have did when we weren’t sucking on bones.

trilobite

Steffie has posted a few pictures from our split pea DNA soup. If you’ve never seen what extracted DNA looks like, this is the place to look. It’s the white cloudy stuff. I always think it’s fascinating that the building blocks of life are so… disgusting, for lack of a better word.

split pea soup

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

