lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Reintroductions

As part of my literature class that I am teaching this summer, I am requiring my students to blog. I have recently really struggled with finding the motivation and time to blog and I thought to myself that if I am going to require it of someone else, I had better be able to require it of myself too. So, during the month of June, I will be blogging with my students and I am so looking forward to it.

Today’s required blog prompt is designed to help get to know each other a bit more. Since I’ve had such a hiatus on my own blog, I thought I might take the time to also reintroduce myself. Things have changed since I’ve been away.

I have a teaching job lined up for this fall in Wheatland, Wyoming. I’ll be teaching seventh grade English and one enrichment course on Zombie Survival which will be a blend of science and zombie lit. We’re going to be doing outdoor survival techniques and learning about how geography and climates would affect not only our ability to survive, but also a zombie’s ability to survive. I’m going to try and get some of my fellow teachers on board for some Zombie Games (like a really elaborate game of tag/obstacle course/scavenger hunt) for the students’ final project. I’m thinking about having my students work in teams and they have to complete a set number of tasks (like plant ID) and avoid the zombies running around. There’ll be wild cards and things too that could mean that one of their team is injured so they have to move slower or find a certain medicine or place. I don’t have all the details figured out, but the students would get points for how many of their team they can lead through the zombie games unharmed and still human.

I have become a long distance runner – kind of. I ran my first half marathon the second weekend in May in Ogden, Utah. It rained the whole race and I’m trying to keep running long distances so that I stay in half marathon shape. I don’t know if the future holds a full marathon for me, but we’ll see. I hope to run one of the Day of the Dead races in New Mexico this October. I love running, but I’m also a really slow runner. It just feels good to know you can run 14 miles. (The picture below is of the half marathon I ran. It rained the whole time. I’ve never been so wet in my life.)

My favorite thing about English is reading. I love reading. I can’t get enough of it. My least favorite part of English classes from when I was in school was never being able to interpret the book for myself. There was always the teacher’s interpretation or the textbook writers and I rarely got to think about a text for myself. I also hated research papers. I know that they serve a purpose, but I hated them. They interfered with my own writing process.

In a year, I plan to attend graduate school for my masters. I don’t want a masters in education, I want it in straight English. I can’t decide if I want to pursue linguistics or if I want to try and find a school that will let me do a masters in science writing and kind of let me design my own program. I’d be happy with either of these. I’d also be happy with English literature, as long as I could make time to pursue science writing and linguistics on the side.

Hopefully you know me a little bit better now. I’m very excited to be blogging again and I hope to maintain this on a much more regular basis as I begin my first real year of teaching. So, here’s a picture of an excited cat because I love cat and that’s one thing that will never change.

Leave a Reply

CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

New York City based photographer STEFAN FALKE visits artists who live and work on both sides of the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region for his ongoing project. All photos and texts © Stefan Falke (No use without written permission by the author)

