lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Okay, so technically, it’s Tuesday, but I’m still going to tell you all what I’ve been reading.

I actually finished Shadow and Bone last week. I felt like Shadow and Bone sits there with The Selection series. It’s a little bit better though and I like that it has a darker premise. There’s definitely more intrigue and the background setting of Russia adds a sort of savage beauty to it. I’ve never been to Russia but sometimes I like to pretend like western Nebraska and Wyoming share similar traits with Siberia. I loved the character of the Darkling. He was definitely my favorite and so I spend quite a bit of time, mining through reviews on Goodreads to find out what happens to him at the end of the series to see if it was worth reading. I won’t tell you what I found in case you want to read it, but I haven’t made up my mind about it. There’s the classic love triangle and I was surprised when Alina picked the guy she did, but I hope that she grows as a character throughout the next two books. There’s the hint of a serious struggle with absolute power that I think could lead to interesting things.

With my Upward Bound literature students, I am rereading Jeannette Walls’ The Glass Castle. I really enjoyed this book on first reading and I read it more for the enjoyment of the book (and I had the job interview for this position in a couple of days and needed to have read it). Upon rereading it and discussing it with my students, I am noticing some very interesting things about their interpretation and mine. First things first, Jeannette allows herself to be a very unreliable narrator and she loves her dad, Rex. She thinks the world of him and she’s young and innocent at the beginning of the novel and so some of the problems that exist and become latter on are downplayed by her rose-colored glasses. Not having a lot of experience with alcoholics, I’d read a lot of the scenes assuming Rex was sober. My students do not. They hate Rex. I can’t stand her mother, but my students are so disgusted by Rex all of the time and a few of them have shared their own personal stories about parents who have and are struggling with alcoholism and it’s completely changed my view.

I have also started the book Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. It’s not my favorite of her work, but I am enjoying the delightful twist on the werewolf narrative. I was a little worried that it was going to be a lot like Twilight, but I need not have worried. Again, I don’t know if I’ll read the whole series, but Maggie Stiefvater is my new favorite author and I should read her most popular series. The second book to The Raven Cycle is sitting on my book case and keeps calling to me, but I have to finish my two other library books first. So much to read.

As I get closer and closer to needing to pack up my last remaining bookshelf in my room to make the move to Wheatland, I keep looking at the titles. I specifically left these books out because I wanted to read them this summer. If I could actually commit to a book a day, I could do it, but I am not the disciplined. I have no idea what I’ll read next and I don’t want to put my to-read bookcase in a box, so we’ll see what happens next week.

shelfie

Leave a Reply

CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

