lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

I have to admit that I’m in a bit of a reading slump right now. I powered through my young adult novels from the libraries in town and now, I don’t want to read anything. After reading Maggie Steifvater’s Scorpio Races in the beginning of May, nothing has really done it for me. It’s a terrible book drought, even though I have a bookshelf full of books that I still get excited about sitting down to read. The problem is I’m not looking forward to the sitting down and reading. I’m excited about the books, but not about the reading. It’s an oxymoron of a problem, but it’s the one I’m facing now.

Yet, I have not been completely idle. I found out that I can move in to my new apartment this upcoming Saturday. I have five days to get my world in order. I have read so many different articles in the past week about how to re-upholster and build chair seats. I’ve read countless articles on indoor herb and vegetable gardens and container gardens, and weird plants that just need air and the occasional misting to survive, and plants that I can grow from seeds in the foods I eat, and dwarf lemon trees, and how to compost. I’ve read articles about disassembling furniture and how to paint wood. I don’t even want to think of the hours lost on websites for removal wallpaper and budget websites. I’ve looked at I don’t even know how many different sites about how to shop for two people on $27/week and what to cook and how to cook for one person.

This is how I deal with my anxiety. I stay up till two in the morning most days reading about design, indoor gardening, furniture DIY, and other things as inane as choosing a color story for my apartment (which I’ve done and pretty much committed myself to). Last night, I felt like I was going to have a panic attack because I don’t have a tablecloth to cover my really crappy, but definitely functional, teeny-tiny kitchen table.

Well, I’ve taken what I’ve read and I’ve begun to apply it and I’ll be talking about that in another post later this week when my project(s) are finished. And isn’t that what we’re all trying to accomplish in education? Read about this and learn about this and then make the information your own? Well, that’s my plan and I hope to take you with me on this journey of apartment moving madness this week as I attempt to bring stability and sanity to my life again.

My yoga pose for the week in trying to calm down and get my thoughts to line up straight.

As for an actual book, I’ve finally made it to the books I received for Christmas. I have the book Cowboys and East Indians by Nina McConigley sitting on my desk with my tri-fecta bookmark (a ticket from the Cartier exhibit at the Denver Art Museum, a business card for my boss for Upward Bound, and a ticket to my college’s last performance of the season – 39 Steps) tucked inside it. My sister’s first college English professor wrote it and signed it for me, and Liz had nothing but good things to say about Nina, so I’m looking forward to it. Hopefully, I’ll find a moment to sit down and read it this week, but first I’ll need to uncover my chair from under the boxes that have yet to be filled with my to-read bookcase. (As a really avid reader and a book collector, does anyone have any hints for labeling boxes without making their family doubt their sanity? I really want to mark these boxes with “to-read shelves,” but I already get teased for my name, date, and destination box scribbling. I want my book boxes decoded before I open them.)

With all this in mind, I wish you happy reading and hope you’ll follow along on my moving adventure.

Leave a Reply

CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Runner Girls Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

