lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

It’s Monday and I’m Back

it's monday

It’s Monday evening and I am making good on one of my New Years Resolutions. I promised myself at the end of 2015 that I was going to begin writing again in 2016. I would blog three times a week and try to write 15 minutes a day. Writing 15 minutes a day has not gone smoothly (4 out of 11 days) and I gave myself a little over a week to figure out my writing life before I jumped back in to blogging. As it turns out, that’s not how it works. I can schedule time with myself to write, but unless I’m really ready to commit, it just won’t happen.

calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions

This school year, I have coaxed my students to try the 40 book challenge. I am only on book 21, but I am confident in my ability to finish. In part because lists are fun and in part because I don’t know where to start in reviewing the twenty books I’ve read so far, I’ll just list the books I have already read since the beginning of school.

40 Book Challenge… So Far

  1. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakamiwhat i talke about when running
  2. Daughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavicsdaughters unto devils
  3. Alice in Zombieland by Gena ShowalterAlice-in-Zombieland-by-Gena-Showalter-196x300
  4. A Contract with God and Other Tenement Stories by Will Eisnercontract with god
  5. The Greatest Dog Stories Ever Told by Patricia M. Sherwoodthe greatest dog stories ever told
  6. The Witches: Salem, 1692 by Stacy Schiffthe witches
  7. The Red Tent by Anita Diamantthe red tent
  8. Hiking the Continental Divide Trail: One Woman’s Journey by Jennifer A. Hansonhiking continental divide trail
  9. Into the Wild (Warriors #1) by Erin Hunterw-into-the-wild
  10. Hungry by H.A. Swainhungry
  11. Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupiship breaker
  12. The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsenthe false prince
  13. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clareclockwork-angel-cassandra-clare
  14. Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnellydeep blue
  15. Rogue Wave by Jennifer Donnellyrogue wave
  16. Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratzprisoner b
  17. Barefoot Gen, Volume One: A Cartoon Story of Hiroshima by Keiji Nakazawabarefoot gen
  18. How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowellhow to train your dragon
  19. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl StrayedWild-book-cover1
  20. Winter by Marissa MeyerWinter-final

My favorite books out of this list so far have been A Clockwork Angel and Winter. Those two books just grabbed me from the first page and wouldn’t let go and were all the best things about fantasy/science fiction for young adults. My favorite adult read would have to be The Witches: Salem, 1692 because it left me so frustrated and so confused by the events of Salem that I am still struggling to put the pieces together in my head. The writing was beautiful and it was a fun read, but I never imagined the Salem witch trials to be so horribly convoluted and confusing. In school, they had always seemed so cut and dry.

Books that surprised me the most on this list were Daughters Unto Devils and How to Train Your Dragon. Daughters Unto Devils terrified me. I know that it had a slow beginning, but there’s just something about people throwing themselves into pig pens to be eaten alive and then seeing scarecrows with real children’s heads instead of pumpkins that I find deeply disturbing. It still scares me just to think about it. How to Train Your Dragon is the complete opposite of Daughters Unto Devils in that there’s nothing remotely scary about it. Toothless is an annoying tiny dragon that can do nothing special except complain and pick fights with other, bigger dragons. It was very different from the movie, and I have to say, I’m pretty sure I enjoyed the movie more.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

