lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

Feedback Promises

Recently, I have been reading a professional development book over giving effective feedback that my district asked me to read at the beginning of the year. It’s not a thrilling read, but it has made me think about how I am interacting with students and how I am responding to their work and their behavior. It’s actually made me think back to LouAnne Johnson’s book Teaching Outside the Box and how she recommended to record yourself so you can see how your tone of voice and vocabulary changes for each student you work with. Johnson wrote about how horrified you will be by the results, but that you’ll fix it after that. I haven’t recorded myself yet, and to be honest, I’m afraid to.

teaching outside

I know that there are students that I do not treat as fairly or equally because I am constantly dealing with the same issues or I am tired because it’s the end of the day. Terrible reasons. Nonsense reasons. These are not the best teaching habits and I know this. I know it in my bones and there’s a special part of my being that is reserved for the self-loathing that I feel when I know I’m not being fair. I try very hard to treat every day as a new day for every kid, but there are days where that slips. The point is I’m trying to make progress for this.

peanuts

While I’m not the proudest of my verbal interactions with students every day, I am happier with how I am handling written feedback. I never write on a student’s paper. If ever I have a comment that I want to make on a student’s paper, I write it on a sticky note and I stick it on the paper. I don’t go through with a red pen and mark up a paper. I always write with the foremost idea that I am communicating with another writer when I make comments on a student’s writing or engage in a conversation with them about their writing. I want to make sure that all of my students feel like they are valued writers who have something worth saying. Yet, this book about feedback is even helping me rethink what I am writing to them.

rethink

This book about feedback is bringing me back to the basics though and it seems that’s where I need to be. I’m rethinking all my responses to my students. When I write to them, I am constantly thinking about how exact is my response. What are my students taking away from my feedback? Is it useful? It is too vague? Am I too critical? This feedback book has inspired me to continue to prioritize time to write back to students, but it has also reminded me to keep in mind the student’s goals as a writer and how close we might be able to get to this goal. Are my comments helping my student reach these goals? I hope so, but I need to start checking back in with my students. I need to make sure that they also feel like they are participating in the conversation about their piece in a meaningful way. They’re seventh  graders, so this is a little challenging. It’s a little challenging for me too to meet with each individual student to discuss their writing and goals, but it needs to happen.

student-writing-300x200

Here’s my promise to my students after reading this book: I promise to include you in the conversation. I promise to pause before I speak to you and to really think about what is the purpose of my statement. I promise to continue to treat you like a writer and to respect your writing decisions. I promise to try a little harder in this area as often as I can because, at the end of the day, that’s all I can do and hopefully, I will have also grown by the end of the year.

promise

2 comments on “Feedback Promises

  1. Elisabeth Ellington
    February 2, 2016

    I really feel like what most students need–what most people need for that matter–is praise. Lots of it. So much more than we give. I wonder why we so often think (and others so often think!) we’re being soft or somehow not rigorous when we praise rather than criticize. I know that it’s very easy for me to pick apart a piece of writing and very hard for me to find things to praise. That makes it more rigorous work for ME to praise. And for my students, it’s so easy for them to think of themselves as only flawed, only in need of improvement. But something magical happens when we accept and love a piece of writing. That’s not to say that I don’t want students to improve because I do. But I don’t think that feedback is the place where improvement happens, at least not in the way we typically think of feedback (“constructive criticism”.)

  2. Tracy
    December 12, 2016

    I was so excited to know that you are facing your fear and moving forward with the videotaping! Yay for you!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

