lechatdu503

A girl and her cat take on the world with nothing more than a cup of tea and a good book and enough dreams to fill the universe.

What Comes Next

Last week, my one goal was to finish I’ll Give You the Sun. Of course, life got in the way of that goal and it didn’t happen which means that today I will not be telling you about how much I loved the rest of my book, I’ll be filling you in instead about my reading plans.When I finish I’ll Give You the Sun, here are the top 5 books that are competing for my next reading selection, but that I hope to have finished by the end of February:

notorious rbg

The Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Irin Camron and Shana Knizhnik 

I heard about this book on the podcast Call Your Girlfriend, brought to you by Gina Delvac, Ann Friedman, and Aminatou Sow, which is one of my favorite podcasts to listen to on my early morning runs. Before Thanksgiving, Aminatou and Ann were discussing The Notorious RBG and how absolutely amazing it was and how they had bought multiple copies to give to their friends and how it was about the very badass RBG when I decided that I needed to read it too. I entered our local bookstore’s Black Friday drawing with all the other women in my family with the idea that one of us would win and I would use the $10 gift certificate prize towards this book. My grandmother won and I was the proud new owner of The Notorious RBG which has since sat on my shelf unread because I was slowed down considerably by Stacy Schiff’s occasionally maddening book The Witches: Salem, 1692.

the red queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

If you read my Saturday post, you’ll understand that this is my newest book haul and it is my prize for running six miles way faster than I have ever run them before. My boyfriend should know better than to try bet with books because then I will always win. Anyways, I have been staring at this book longingly for quite some time and am looking forward to a fun romp into the world of young adult dystopian fiction, even if the general story line is one I’ve enjoyed before.

dragonfly in amber

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

Before I started student teaching, I read Outlander and I loved every moment of the book, though it was much steamier than I was expecting it to be. I have no idea how Diana Gabaldon manages to pack so many different events into a book that it feels like one book could also be its own series, but she does a great job of writing it in a way that you can’t put it down. I have also watched the first half of season one of the TV series by the same name and it was wonderful, thought the second half is really expensive, so I’m holding out on buying it. I recently saw the previews for the second season which involves the events of Dragonfly in Amber, and I realized that I was actually going to have to read that book to because it just looks too amazing (and it takes place in the French court).

blue lily, lily blue

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Maggie Stiefvater is in my top five favorite writers of all time. I loved The Scorpio Races and I have loved reading The Raven Boys series. Her books are like candy and never last more than a day or two, even with all my other commitments to school and grading and running and everything else that comes with being an adult. Blue, Gansey, Ronan, Adam, and Noah all have a seat deep in my heart and I can’t wait to see what sort of horrible tension Stiefvater has created in this book that will make me want to run right out and buy the hardcover version of the last book even though it won’t match my paperback series collection.

sous chef

Sous Chef:24 Hours on the Line by Michael Gibney

Sometimes I go through periods of time where I buy a lot of books on a certain theme, and oftentimes this theme revolves around cooking. Sous Chef is one of those books. It’s been on my to-read shelf for years and stares at me with its bright red spine every day I sit on my couch. Well, this month I’m finally going to give it a chance because, while I love teaching, I also love food and I love to cook. I will always remember my days in food service as incredibly entertaining and educational. There is so much you can learn from a chef or a cook or in setting up a cater for a 500 person wedding. Food service is full of stories and sometimes I like to re-immerse myself in that world.

giveaway

In other news, I am also only ten followers away from having 100 followers and this thrills me to no end, so I am doing a book lover’s giveaway as soon as I reach 100. I will be giving away two books (I’m thinking Fun Home by Alison Bechdel and The Association of Small Bombs by Karan Mahajan, though these are negotiable), some very nice tea (either Yogi’s Egyptian Licorice or the Palais des Thes’ The des Moines), and a book tote to the lucky winner. To win, you must be following my blog and comment with your favorite book from 2015. I will chose the winner randomly on Feb. 20th. Best of luck and happy reading!

6 comments on “What Comes Next

  1. Pots of Tea
    February 2, 2016

    My favourite book of 2015 has to be Ice Twins – creepy and gripping! Have you read it?

  2. Kassidy
    February 2, 2016

    Boston Girl!

  3. Libby
    February 2, 2016

    Go Set a Watchman!

  4. Libby
    February 2, 2016

    Go Set A Watchman

  5. Harley
    February 2, 2016

    Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

  6. kelseyempfield
    February 15, 2016

    My brother really liked Red Queen. I bet you will, too! I read the first 20 pages and just couldn’t do it. Gabi, Girl in Pieces was my 2015 faves.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
CANVAS OF THOUGHTS

Push your mind, get inspired & be on top of the world.

Podcast

Brought Together By a Love of Running

draperfossil's Blog

I discuss fossils

Ambitious Procrastinator

No One Here But a Writer Who Gets Up and Try

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Border Voices Poetry Program

A topnotch WordPress.com site

LA FRONTERA: Artists along the U.S.- Mexico Border

Stefan Falke photographs artists who live and work along the 2000 miles long U.S.- Mexico border to document the vibrant culture of the region on both sides. All photos © Stefan Falke (use with written permission by the author only)

